Subiaco and North Balga Primary Nominated for Award


Subiaco Football Club and North Balga Primary School have been nominated for a WA Aboriginal Educational Award in 2012.

The Milton Thorne Award for WA Outstanding School Initiative for Aboriginal Students recognises a public school running an initiative for Aboriginal students.

Subiaco’s Learn Today…Lead Tomorrow program is the basis of both the nomination and the club's Community Engagement Program through which it endeavors to improve relationships with its district zone.


The program gives each student an opportunity to strengthen their achievement in Literacy, Numeracy, the Arts, Health & Physical Education, Self Worth and Leadership.

Sport is used as a reward for the students to help keep them engaged in the classroom activities.

The program commenced at North Balga Primary School in 2011 and caters for Aboriginal students in Years 4-7. The group had 23 students involved in 2011 and 15 students involved in 2012.

Data collected has provided validation for the program with five of the students with attendance between 96-100 per cent.

Of the remaining five students, all have increased their attendance by one, three, five, six and 14 per cent respectively.

It is considered very important to maintain a high standard of attendance as data has shown that there is a tendency for attendance to diminish as the students’ progress through the years.

Behaviour also a notable improvement.

Six of the students have maintained a high standard of good behavior. Recording ‘positives’, so far in 2012, for these students that has increased by 10 per cent.

Students who performed high-level behavior acts that led to a suspension in 2011 have performed none in 2012 and had only some low-level behavior warnings.

The program going beyond re-engaging them in their schooling it also educates them about their culture and the history of their land and people.

The kids benefiting from visits from respected Aboriginal Elders such as Peter Farmer who took the kids for arts classes and Walter & Doolan Leisha-


 The winner will be announced on Monday, 25 June at Parliament House. 

buy viagra online

buy viagra australia

sildenafil australia

viagra in australia

nolvadex pct

buy nolvadex online

tamoxifen australia

generic nolvadex

buy orlistat australia

buy xenical australia

orlistat xenical australia

buy xenical online

comprare viagra online

acheter cialis france

buy kamagra uk