Memory Lane - Grand Final Memories

Subiaco head into the 2017 Grand Final as the underdogs for the 133rd WAFL final Grand Final to be held at Subiaco’s spiritual home, Subiaco Oval.
History has been kind to Subiaco in Grand Finals when the underdog though, these are some of the more memorable premierships in club history.
1924 – Subiaco 7.9 d East Fremantle 3.6
Subiaco won just seven games in the 1924 season and were considered longshots of adding a fourth club premiership on the eve of finals. A stunning month of football from the Maroons though, beating East Perth once and East Fremantle twice spurred the side to an unlikely premiership. Subiaco held East Fremantle goalless in the first half of the 1924 Grand Final and despite a second half fightback, Subiaco again held their nerve holding East Fremantle scoreless in the last quarter.
1973 – Subiaco 10.12 d West Perth 6.4
Despite finishing as the minor premiers, West Perth were Subiaco’s bogy side in 1973. The old rivals had won all four battles including the second semi-final two weeks before the Grand Final. All that would change on a windy and wet afternoon at Subiaco Oval as the club ended a 49 year premiership drought in style. Led by a stellar defensive effort, playing coach Ross Smith engineered one of the great Grand Final victories spearheading his side to a famous win. Keith Watt kicked four goals, Mick Malone kicked three while Dennis Blair claimed the Simpson Medal as best on ground.
1986 – Subiaco 19.16 d East Fremantle 8.13
Subiaco and East Fremantle had a tough rivalry during the 1980’s; however East Fremantle always seemed to win the big games between the two. East Fremantle had won three finals against Subiaco in 1985 and 1986 and were favourites to make it back to back flags in 1986. However Subiaco produced one of its best first halves of the season kicking 13 goals to 3 to build a match winning lead. Subiaco were able to savour the second half as they ended up 69 point winners giving the Lions their sixth premiership. Todd Breman and Laurie Keene combined for seven goals while Dwayne Lamb had 35 possessions. Mark Zanotti claimed the Simpson Medal as coach Haydn Bunton’s three year transition master class was complete.
2007 – Subiaco 15.13 d Claremont 9.8
Ten years ago, Subiaco went into a similar situation to this year, against a dominant opponent who had beaten them in the second semi final. Claremont started favourites with Subiaco given little chance of winning back-to-back flags. However things started perfectly for Subiaco when Ali Pickett hit Brad Smith for the first goal and the Lions never looked back. They led by 28 points at quarter time and maintained a comfortable lead the entire way. Key forward Brad Smith capped off a sensational season with seven goals and the Simpson Medal while Shaun Hildebrant led the way in the midfield with 23 possessions.
2014 – Subiaco 11.16 d East Perth 9.12
A famous Grand Final win as Subiaco conquered East Perth on a wet Sunday afternoon at Subiaco Oval. Rank outsiders going into the game, Subiaco were given little chance of contending with East Perth. However after absorbing enormous pressure in the first half, Subiaco made a charge in the third quarter kicking six goals to two building a match winning lead. East Perth made a run in the last quarter but Subiaco held firm recording a famous win. Captain Jason Bristow was inspirational, leading his team to the victory and claiming the Simpson medal. George Hampson kicked three goals while Chris Phelan and Kyal Horsley combined for 51 possessions.

buy viagra online

buy viagra australia

sildenafil australia

viagra in australia

nolvadex pct

buy nolvadex online

tamoxifen australia

generic nolvadex

buy orlistat australia

buy xenical australia

orlistat xenical australia

buy xenical online

comprare viagra online

acheter cialis france

buy kamagra uk