Kitchin wins 2017 Outridge Medal

Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 7:00 PM


Leigh Kitchin has taken out the 2017 Outridge Medal awarded to the best and fairest player at the Subiaco Football Club.
Kitchin was a comfortable winner in the end finishing on 572 votes with Lachlan Delahunty winning the Don Carter Memorial Trophy in second place on 526 votes and Liam Ryan the Ted Doherty Memorial Trophy in third place on 521 votes.
Early in the night Chris Phelan raced out to an early lead at the midway part of the season before injury ended his run for a third straight Outridge Medal. Despite strong seasons from Kyal Horsley and Liam Ryan, it was Kitchin who worked his way through the field, grabbed the lead late in the season and held it the rest of the way.
In his third season in the WAFL with Subiaco, it was Kitchin’s ongoing consistency that was the hallmark of his Outridge Medal win.
Kitchin was one of only four players to play in all 23 games for Subiaco this season and he made it count, averaging 24 possessions and laying 4 tackles a game. 
Across the season, Kitchin continued to show his consistency having 17 games of at least 20 possessions also adding some goal kicking prowess to his dominance inside finishing the season with 14 goals.
Kitchin highlighted the importance that his father had played in ensuring his football remained about respect. For Kitchin, it is the respect he has for the club that continues to drive him. 
Meanwhile for Delahunty and Ryan in the minor placings, it was credit to improved consistency that they finished second and third in the 2017 count.
Delahunty in his fourth season with Subiaco played 22 games, far surpassing his previous season record at the Lions of 15 games in 2014 and 2015. Across the season Delahunty showed an ability to play the team role for the team, mixing time in the ruck and becoming a dangerous goal kicking options late in the season.
Both Kitchin and Delahunty were adamant about coming back to Subiaco in 2018, bigger and better to make amends for the 2017 Grand Final defeat.
Ryan was a popular third place getter in the count. The mercurial young forward seems destined for higher honours in 2018 but capped off a great 2017 season with the Bernie Naylor Medal, Austen Robertson Award and the Outstanding Play Award for the Subiaco Football Club.
Ryan finished with 73 goals across 23 games including three bags of six and took out the WAFL Mark of the Year with a stunning grab in Round 23 against East Perth.
In other awards that were presented on the night captain Kyal Horsley took out the coaches consistency award and the Golds Player of the Year Award. Max Walters took the rising star award, Wayde Twomey the best clubman and Ron Tester the President’s Trophy.
Across the night Subiaco’s six state players, 13 new debutants and 150 game players Kyal Horsley and Chris Phelan were all recognised.
Ultimately though, this was Kitchin’s night. A man who in his time at the club has lived all of the club values and is the barometer for hardwork and consistency, it was fitting in a strong season such a strong player would be recognised as Subiaco’s best.
Outridge Medallist: Leigh Kitchin
Don Carter Memorial Trophy: Lachlan Delahunty
Ted Doherty Memorial Trophy: Liam Ryan
City of Subiaco Medallion: Wayde Twomey
Austin Robertson Junior Award: Liam Ryan
Dennis Barron Memorial Trophy: Max Walters
Golds Player of the Year: Kyal Horsley
Newton Screaigh Award: Kyal Horsley
President’s Trophy: Ron Tester
Leigh Kitchin 572 votes
Lachlan Delahunty 526 votes
Liam Ryan 521 votes
Kyal Horsley 491 votes
Aaron Heal 483 votes
Jordan Lockyer 460 votes
Wayde Twomey 456 votes
Max Walters 455 votes
Ben Sokol 431 votes
Craig Hoskins 430 votes
Corey Adamson 420 votes
Angus Litherland 389 votes
Brad Stevenson 381 votes
Adam Cockie 374 votes
Justin Joyce 372 votes
Scott Hancock 358 votes
Declan Jackson 355 votes
Clancy Wheeler 320 votes
Liam Baker 286 votes

Greg Clark 270 votes