Lions season comes to a close after Prelim Final

Tuesday, September 19, 2023 - 12:06 PM

Subiaco has fallen one game short of a Grand Final berth, falling to Peel Thunder by 24 points at Lane Group Stadium on Sunday September 17.

Peel kicked away early, leaving the Lions with a lot to do, particularly in the second half.

Although there were moments Subiaco looked to threaten, the Thunder’s experienced heads steadied, leading them to an 11.11 (77) to 7.11 (53) win.

Young gun Koltyn Tholstrup tried his hardest, with five marks and five inside 50s from 15 touches.

Meanwhile, skipper Leigh Kitchin led from the front, with 19 disposals and a goal.

The win ends the Lions’ season, which saw the side go from missing the finals in 2022, to being one game away from a Grand Final.

In front of their home crowd, Peel got the jump on the Lions in the first term, kicking the first four goals of the match.

Needing a spark, Wil Hickmott converted for Subiaco’s first goal, before Kitchin put through his side’s second.

The Lions continued the momentum in the second term, with Taj Schofield bringing the margin back to 14 points.

Subiaco continued to create opportunities, but were unable to penetrate the Thunder’s defence.

Although they kept Peel goalless, the home side still held the lead at half time.

The Thunder got to work in the third, kicking the opening two goals of the quarter.

Ryan Borchet looked to get involved, kicking his first for the match to try and swing the momentum.

The Lions continued to press inside 50, but Peel continued to intercept mark on multiple occasions.

They were able to get repeat scores, stretching the lead to 33 points at three quarter time.

With nothing to lose in the final term, Subiaco flipped the magnets to try and change things up.

Tholstrup was moved to a wing, Rylie Morgan was sent down back, and Angus Dewar moved forward.

Although it generated scores, Peel was able to respond, ending the Lions’ season.


SUBIACO 2.0 3.4 4.7 7.11 (53)

PEEL THUNDER 5.3 5.5 9.10 11.11 (77)


Goals: Borchet 2, Kitchin, Schofield, Giro, W Hickmott, Alone.

Best: Tholstrup, Kitchin, Lockyer, L Hickmott.